Life is a REALITY SHOW….

  • Oh yes, Life is just a Reality Show. It is a play, a movie, an act … whatever … but it is not real. It is THE BIGGEST REALITY SHOW ever made. It could also be called THE GRANDEST ILLUSION πŸ˜‡
  • I had talked about the software of God which creates our life story in Life is a Cocktail 🍷🍷🍷 That is the plot or the story of the interactive reality show, we call life.
  • At some time or the other all of us have felt the unreality of life. The holiday we took a couple of years back looks like a dream. That surprise meeting with the person of your dreams; did it really happen? Does not the utter unreality and at times the utter uselessness of all action strike all of us at some time or the other?

    We do keep getting glimpses of this play but are too scared to probe it further. We get scared of what life will be like if the life as we knew it is not real! The fear of the unknown keeps us trapped in this endless drama, this never ending cycle of pain and suffering; with some happiness and pleasure thrown in to keep the act going.

    You may like to read my views on life/God also on : Infinitude of God and My Love-Hate relationship with USA; Infinitude of God-2

    There is no way this ever expanding universe can be real. It is a creation of our thoughts …

    Truman Show:

    This was a Jim Carey movie and is the story of an insurance salesman, who discovers his entire life is actually a television show and that even members of his family are mere actors!!

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=loTIzXAS7v4

    I saw this movie more than two decades back and it resonated so well with my thoughts. I loved it. What a concept! The whole city was a set for this life long reality show. At one stage Truman (JC) finds out about the show and tries to escape but is unsuccessful. He then confronts the director, who tells him about his dream about this immense reality show. The whole world is glued to their TVs to see what will Truman do the next day.

    He opens his front door as usual, comes out and says Good Morninggggg 😊😊

    Last couple of years I was regularly going to my old apartment for its renovation. In that condo I had an older neighbour, who wasn’t so well. He used to come out in a wheel chair and sit in the sun in the drive way in the winter mornings. Every time I passed by him I would stop my car, roll down the glass and say good morning Mr. M😊 And he will ask me how was my son and bless me. It kept on going on for months. One day it stuck me that I am doing exactly like Truman 😊 Not only me, my neighbour too 😊 Both of us were part of the Reality Show!! Next day when I crossed him I made it a point to come out of the car and shook hands with him!! I see this play being enacted all around me so very often. In the malls, on the roads .. everywhere.

    Life my friend, is a reality show only. I have no doubt in my mind. It is not real. But it is so well made that it looks very real. Oh the reality of unreality!!

    Life is like a Movie

    Life could also be compared to a movie. We know movies aren’t real. Movies are movies 😊 But someone has produced it, directed it; edited it and we are watching it. In a way it is real. Life, like a movie, is real and unreal at the same time.

    And also it is a Work in Progress and a Finished Product at the same time. Your computer, tablet or mobile whatever you are using just now is solid. It is a finished product. But the moment you watch its inner structure: there are millions and billions of electrons and protons running around like mad. For them they are a work in progress. But for you it is a finished, solid product. Life is always a perspective. Finished or a WIP – depends on where are you looking from.

    Same is true for our lives : We are a work in progress. Life events are happening and shall keep happening. At the same time whatever has to happen has already happened. It wouldn’t have happened, it couldn’t have happened if the Cosmic Creator Director hadn’t already created it in His thoughts. We are a finished product or WIP – All a perspective. Never real.

    Or as Neale Donald Walsch wrote in Conversations with God : Life is like a CD Rom. Everything has happened πŸ˜‡ Depends which track are we watching!!

    All the world’s a stage, and all the men and women merely players: they have their exits and their entrances; and one man in his time plays many parts, his acts being seven ages.

    William Shakespeare

     If we start to become aware of this play, this drama, we start enjoying it. Worry and tension go out and we get filled with joy and laughter.

     Ultimately good or bad; hero or villain, rich or poor, beautiful or ugly…..it is all maya, an illusion, a play ….never real…..

     Guruji, Paramahansa Yogananda had said,” When you die, you are going to say; Thank God it was a dream!” Same as we get up from a bad dream and say : Thank God it was a dream!!

    “It doesn’t matter whether we scrub floors, or whether we are leaders of great nations; unless we know that we are merely playing a part on the stage of time, we will suffer from the dualities inherent in the consciousness of being identified with these different stations and conditions. Stage actors do not bemoan their particular parts, but enact their roles to the best of their ability, knowing they are temporary portrayals. Do you see? It is only when we take life too seriously that we suffer.” Paramahansa Yogananda

    So many times I think I should walk away from all this : this dream, this show, this endless drama of life; and then I get up in the morning and say :

    GOOD MORNING WORLD πŸ˜‚

    And the show goes on ….

    64 thoughts on “Life is a REALITY SHOW….

    Add yours

    1. Thank you so much Vishal for the read and your beautiful insight. It is true – most people are caught in the madness matrix or Maya and can’t think.
      Time and space are mind constructs. Let you and me keep enjoying this Reality Show and let the world go on !

    2. Wow what a wonderful description of reality ! I think there is concept of some parallel universe lies here one can think like what if we are living here but actually breathing somewhere else ! Or may be we are just dreaming like what would happen if we are sleeping and open our eyes one day and see all the concept of reality is in my mind. And the last we can call us a type of alien may be why can’t we assume us alien human being is an alien and there are may be there are other aliens living in some other galaxies. So people can think infinite possibility here to prove origin of existence .But one thing is sure when time is not constant thing then how could we actually accept this materalistic world for real .The problem is people are used to live in a box of reality and never tried to expad the whole concept of reality.

    3. You were right.. this is an amazing post.
      Also, I really liked The Truman Show as well as As you like it by Shakespeare from which the quote is taken.
      Life is all about perspectives.. and hence, it is very subjective. It not only changes from person to person, but also changes for a person at different points of time.

    4. Thank you Ashok. Another wonderful thing to ponder. You make the gears in my head turn and I am grateful for that. Each one I read speaks to me. Reminding me or giving me necessary information.

    5. Thank you so much Ian for your thoughts. You seem to have given disillusionment a completely new dimension!!
      Oh yes I have had these periods of dis-illusion too ….

    6. It must be a coincidence. I am reading ‘ Untethered Soul’ and the author compares life with Movies. He says that when we watch the movies, we are so engrossed that we forget about ourselves. Similarly, in this drama of life, we are so engrossed that we forget who we really are. In Movies only two senses are at work, hearing and seeing. In real life, all five senses are at work, so it consumes us much more than a movie does. This is great post Ashokji. Every word is so true and sad part is many don’t realize it until the very end. Beautifully written❣. Show must go on and if we are aware that it is a show, we will enjoy it thoroughly while it lasts.

    7. Have you ever found yourself in the grip of dis-illusion-meant?

      It is never seen as a positive thing, but some say we are meant to look past the illusion.

      Once in a while. I am disillusioned, but oddly, ironically that only happens when is see one illusion through my own.

      I hate horror movies especially these days when they are made to look like what could be real; our own nightmares coming to life.

      I pretty much stick only to Hallmark and Disney these days. But this means I only trade one illusion for another. Is it meant for us to live in illusion when dis-illusion seems also so unreal…not true…when horror and fantasy seem just as alive? (Shaking head)

      I’d like to think about this post…it seems deeply important and synchronistic.

      Thanks Ashok

    8. They are our own truths and it is futile trying to get anyone else to see them. That’s why we say them. Speak them. And hopefully, someone else hears, understands and… I dunno. Find their own truth too.

    9. 😊
      The thing Kalliope is that our truths are so clear to us. But there is no way most of us can pen them down. I see the unreality of our life so clearly πŸ˜‡
      Thank you for reading the post

    10. Very amazing sir!!
      Absolutely correct…
      Loved the quotes.πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸŒΈ
      THE SHOW MUST GO ON!!

    11. Haha I love this. Yes, it truly is. I think I wrote something on pointless overthinking about this, although through a different lens. Haha. Punny. Anyway, I presented it as a thoughtful exercise for fun, but my intention was for the reader to think about themselves as the director and writer for their own life. Live the story you want to see. Everyone wants to glorify and see their own story in lights. Maybe not on the silver screen, but the screen unseen.

    12. Wow this is all so well put! Enjoyed reading all the way through. The show goes on …. This was actually really helpful too. 😍😍Great work

    13. Thank you so much Huguette. I truly believe in this. I live this truth very often too. But then the illusion takes over! Past conditioning takes over. But luckily I bounce back quick enough.
      Am sure you will do better than I have done 😊

    14. K great to know that and you know Ashok I like Pune much better than Mumbai. The climate too is very nice. I come very often as my cousin stays in Pune and I too have recently purchased a house with Godrej Builders.

    15. This is something original: life is a reality show, a movie…I believe it is! And I watched the Truman Show more than once and the message is powerful: the free will! I just wonder in life if we have this privilege sometimes to defy the “director” will πŸ™‚ On a daily basis, like the example you gave about your neighbor, we feel we are in Truman show, the people we meet everyday, how we wake up and do things and we feel irritated if someone changed our habits…it is truly a reality show!
      Loved the quotes you used especially about the actors that just do their roles without questioning
      Very good share! πŸ™‚

    16. Great thoughts on this topic Uncle…i was feeling as if Guruji speaking through u….πŸ˜„

    17. Thank you so much Kamal.
      Hope you are enjoying the rains 😊
      At times the Mumbai rains can be too Real πŸ˜‡

    18. Such enthralling words on The Truman show. Indeed it was an epic and yeah quite relatable to what you are saying.
      Pleasure to read!β£οΈπŸ’™

    19. This is awesome and every word that you have so truly written is absolutely correct and I completely agree with them, Ashok. For sure Life is a stage and He is the Actor, the Performer and the One who plays the Movie drama in everyone’s lives. But as you say till we are living the SHOW MUST GO ON.

    Leave a comment

    Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

    Up ↑